What is Yoga?

Yoga is the Sanskrit word for union. 

योगचित्त-वृत्ति निरोध:
(yogaś citta-vṛtti-nirodhaḥ)
- Yoga Sutras 1.2

Patanjali, in his Yoga Sutras describes yoga as "the purification of the activities of consciousness".

An integral part of Ayurvedic Medicine, Yoga is a traditional system of healing, purifying and uniting the mind, body and spirit. Yoga cleanses the body of toxins, improving flexibility, muscle tone and blood circulation while offering peace of mind and free rhythm of breath.

Samya is the Sanskrit word for Balance. Samya Yoga is the Yoga of Balance.

The traditional systems of Raja and Hatha Yoga describe eight main branches of Yoga:

  1. Yamas (Social Ethics)
  2. Niyama (Individual Ethics).
  3. Asana (Body Postures)
  4. Pranayama (Breath Control)
  5. Pratyahara (Withdrawal of the sense organs from external objects)
  6. Dharana (Concentration: Fixing the attention on a single object.)
  7. Dhyana (Meditation: Unwavering contemplation of the nature of the object of meditation)
  8. Samādhi (Liberation: Merging consciousness with the object of meditation)

Samya Yoga offers a balanced system of practices and teachings addressing every branch of Yoga and most every aspect of well being.

Samya Ayurveda Yoga Therapy addresses each individual according to his/her Ayurvedic constitution, physiological and anatomical uniqueness. 

Copyright Samya Ayurveda Inc.